login   |    register

Scale Modeling Sponsors

See Your Ad Here!

User Support
This forum deals with technical issues, email problems or other support related issues.
How to get more space?
TankerTweaker
Visit this Community
Missouri, United States
Joined: December 02, 2016
KitMaker: 18 posts
Model Shipwrights: 0 posts
Posted: Sunday, May 07, 2017 - 01:57 PM GMT+7
How can you increase the space for adding more pictures to gallery?
CMOT
Staff MemberEditor-in-Chief
ARMORAMA
#406
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
Joined: May 14, 2006
KitMaker: 10,020 posts
Model Shipwrights: 85 posts
Posted: Sunday, May 07, 2017 - 06:04 PM GMT+7
Becoming a subscriber on the site is the only way of doing that and it costs about the same as a cup of coffee a month.
TankerTweaker
Visit this Community
Missouri, United States
Joined: December 02, 2016
KitMaker: 18 posts
Model Shipwrights: 0 posts
Posted: Tuesday, May 09, 2017 - 07:16 AM GMT+7

Quoted Text

Becoming a subscriber on the site is the only way of doing that and it costs about the same as a cup of coffee a month.



Thanks for the info Darren
JPTRR
Staff MemberManaging Editor
RAILROAD MODELING
#051
Visit this Community
Tennessee, United States
Joined: December 21, 2002
KitMaker: 6,922 posts
Model Shipwrights: 422 posts
Posted: Tuesday, May 09, 2017 - 07:42 AM GMT+7
Darren has the easiest answer. Lots of gain for little cost.

There is another way to maximize what you have, too. When you load a photo into your computer, there is a great deal of embedded formatting in each image file. I discovered by accident long ago (c.2003) that if you open your image in an image program - even Paint - and then save it, many kilobytes of such formatting is stripped away, making your image file a smaller file in terms of Kbs, while not loosing clarity or definition.

Also, resizing images helps a lot. Until recently all the images I posted were a maximum of 600-800 pixels and that range looks real good. I can't speak for today's screens because my PC is from 2010.

It's a pain to open each image and resize/re-save. But it is effective.
barkingdigger
Staff MemberAssociate Editor
ARMORAMA
#013
Visit this Community
England - East Anglia, United Kingdom
Joined: June 20, 2008
KitMaker: 3,041 posts
Model Shipwrights: 0 posts
Posted: Saturday, May 20, 2017 - 03:17 AM GMT+7
Bear in mind the current minimum spec for images used here in Reviews & Features is now 1200x900 pixels.

Also, if you open a compressed file (like a jpeg image) and re-save it, it gets compressed a second time. This reduces file size, but at a cost in terms of image quality. Not sure if this is actually the size-savings Fred discovered...

I reduce all my images to 1200x900 or 1600x1200 in Photoshop Elements, and the files drop from 3mb (raw from camera) to about 200kb. I always keep a copy of the unedited original too, just in case. You can grab a number of free or low-cost programmes for similar reduction (one of my favourites is Irfanview) if you don't already have one.
JPTRR
Staff MemberManaging Editor
RAILROAD MODELING
#051
Visit this Community
Tennessee, United States
Joined: December 21, 2002
KitMaker: 6,922 posts
Model Shipwrights: 422 posts
Posted: Saturday, May 20, 2017 - 05:21 AM GMT+7

Quoted Text

Also, if you open a compressed file (like a jpeg image) and re-save it, it gets compressed a second time. This reduces file size, but at a cost in terms of image quality. Not sure if this is actually the size-savings Fred discovered...



That is. Now that pix size is going to 1200 X xxx, maybe that will reduce image quality. But then unless one's camera is limited to about 4MP, that shouldn't be a problem I expect. The images I posted on KMN through c. 2008 were a max of 2MP and I had no photo processing software other than Paint.
Dragon164
#226
Visit this Community
British Columbia, Canada
Joined: February 20, 2012
KitMaker: 1,674 posts
Model Shipwrights: 33 posts
Posted: Saturday, May 20, 2017 - 07:25 AM GMT+7
PhotoRazor is a great free program for resizing images and will do many at once.

Cheers Rob.
2002hummer
#257
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
Joined: October 11, 2011
KitMaker: 572 posts
Model Shipwrights: 23 posts
Posted: Friday, June 30, 2017 - 05:43 AM GMT+7
I went to add more photos to my gallery but was told it is full and I need to delete some photos. How do I do this. I upload all my photos directly from my computer to my gallery. I dint use the famous Photobucket system, just a direct upload. Any ideas?
cloggerdemps
Visit this Community
Australia
Joined: December 05, 2012
KitMaker: 78 posts
Model Shipwrights: 75 posts
Posted: Tuesday, July 18, 2017 - 08:03 PM GMT+7
Hi
Have the same problem and saw a post a few post below this one about deleting photos from the gallery.Haven't tried it myself yet.